Post Achilles Surgery Week 2 – This One’s Optimistic

Happy Friday! My watch told me it’s Friday, but I had no idea. First, name the band/song that inspired my post title and you get a prize. The prize isn’t an actual thing of course, it’s in the form of a tip of my cap and some kudos (not the delicious treat from my past, but “props” as the kids used to say).

Image result for kudos snacka
It’s been 2 whole weeks since I had surgery on my busted Achilles tendon. 2 long, slow, restless, weeks. We can talk about the good news first. I was looked at on Tuesday and things look good so far. I finally got my sling/cast taken off and sutures taken out. I can kinda, sorta walk now! I still use the crutches, but more for assistance than to bear the full weight. Wanna see pictures? Of course you do.

I’m now in a boot with a massive heel lift in it to keep my tendon as short as possible. The boot is full of cushions and straps that make me feel safe and cozy. The downside is that the boot is HEAVY. It’s certainly going to strengthen me up. This is my view most of the day. I’m doing my best to keep it elevated to get rid of that gross looking blood pooled up in my foot.


I have my next appointment with the surgeon on 1/25. If I don’t do anything stupid between now and then, I should be cleared to get to work at the gym and with the PT to get back to running. The running is a long ways away, but I’m so excited to start the journey back to it. I keep visualizing those first miles. They’ll be the best miles of my life.

There really isn’t a while ton of bad news. I do fight cabin fever much of the time and unfortunately there isn’t much I can do about it. I did leave the house yesterday to go see the new Star Wars movie (it’s AWESOME, by the way) and walk around the mall a bit. I like getting up and being as active as possible, but it does take a lot out of me currently.

I have soooooo much work ahead of me. I’m trying to remind myself that everything I do (or don’t do) can work toward a better and speedier recovery. Resting, eating right, praying and other important pieces aren’t done at the gym but they are vital. The eating right part sure is tough, especially around the holidays. Santa and friends brought many treats and as tough as running around on crutches can be, it doesn’t burn nearly enough calories. Most importantly, I’ll stay optimistic. Optimistic people heal better.

I don’t think I’ll be posting about this again until after the next appointment. There won’t be much to say. It’s going to be 4 more weeks of this.

18 Replies to “Post Achilles Surgery Week 2 – This One’s Optimistic”

  1. Honestly, the scar/stitches doesn’t look too bad. I’m glad that your spirits are up and you got to leave the house to go to the movies. It’s amazing how we don’t realize how much we MOVE until we can’t (not counting workouts just general movement). Even little things like that can be victories, and so glad you are feeling as positive as you can be as you deal with this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d love to see those pics. Who doesn’t want to see a bloody, torn up foot? Same to you. I hope you and your family are back to health so I can see some running posts from you. I’ll try to imagine that I can keep up.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man, what a bummer. I am sure an injury like that is super discouraging; hang in there, and I’ll look forward to reading about your running adventures when you are back at it– hoping the time goes quickly for you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally wanted to see the foot, thanks for the pics! Glad everything looks like it’s moving toward recovery. Hope it’s more good news at the next appointment!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment