Dusting off the ol’ blog and picking a marathon!

Well, hey there. Remember me? How long has it been, anyway? 3 months??? Woah.

What Year Is It GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

There really hasn’t been a whole lot to talk about. We got through 2020 together. We thought we were on our way to getting through COVID, and now maybe we aren’t. I’m currently on the hunt for my next marathon to be run in the fall. After Blue Ridge, I feel like all of these flat and fast ones will be easy! Yeah, right. In all seriousness, I do believe that my Blue Ridge experience will be built on.

So far, I’m narrowed down to 4 races.

  • Richmond (for the 5th(?) time)
  • Rehoboth (for the 3rd time)
  • Philly (for the 1st time)
  • EOD Warrior Holiday Bash in DC (for the 1st time)

With Richmond, I know what I’m doing. I know the city well enough. I know the course well enough. It’s there for me, but I’m not super excited about it. The biggest downer is that my favorite post-race celebrators won’t be in town. My brother in law has always been there to hook me up with a post-race donut and plenty of post-race beer. I’d miss him.

Rehoboth would be great. The course is fast and I know it well. There are sure to be runners that I know and can pace with. The post-race festivities are the best (unless COVID stops them). It’s a long drive up though. There isn’t much worse than a 9 hour drive on marathon legs.

Philly would be a pretty good option. I’ve never been to Philly for any reason other than I peed in an alley there once on my way to New York. The main reason for not running is that I’m cheap and stubborn and I just missed a price increase. Boooooo.

I just found the EOD Warrior Holiday Bash yesterday and I’m quite interested. DC isn’t too far away (and I have a place to crash, thanks Jason and Betsy!). The course looks fast and not boring. It’s the first weekend in December, so I know the weather will be perfect for me and I still have plenty of time to get to training the way I want to. The only con is that it’s a small race, but that’s ok with me.

Well, that’s plenty for now. I haven’t written in 3 months. As you know, I need to build up my base. I hope to be this guy again soon!

11 Replies to “Dusting off the ol’ blog and picking a marathon!”

  1. I have a 10 years ago unpaid parking ticket from Philly (Philly LoopPhest!) that I refused to pay because I didn’t get notices about it initially and when I finally did, they had added late charges to it. I’m with the guy who said to pick a new one! Happy picking!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh hi! I vote for either Rehoboth (because Clark and I will be there for the half again and we’d love to buy you another oyster shooter) or Philly because it’s honestly a great race if you don’t get howling winds and sub-freezing temperatures for race day. Happy training!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment